The Final Post :(

Dear Parents of Division 15,

I regret to inform you that today or tomorrow I will be sending you the last weekly class newsletter, and that this will be my last blog post of the year.  Any future communications from me about classroom events will come to you via short e-mails and only when absolutely necessary.  I would encourage you to read the school newsletters (accessible from the Dixon website) to keep informed about upcoming events.  The most recent school newsletter came out on Friday.

Also, please note that we will not be going on any more field trips this year nor will we be having a year-end celebration trip during school hours.

Teaching is definitely not an 8:30 a.m. to 2:45 p.m. job.  I spend many hours in the evening and on weekends planning and preparing lessons and materials to teach.  I will continue to do so because, even in these difficult times, the most important part of my job is to teach your child.

In a couple of weeks you will be receiving a Progress Report from me.  This will give you an indication of your child’s current achievement in the academic subject areas.  Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have concerns or questions about your child.

I will continue to greet your child in the classroom any time after 8:30 in the morning.  If I am not there, I am either in a meeting or away that day.

It is with a very heavy heart that I have decided to no longer update or post on our class blog.  This decision was not an easy one for me.  I view communication with parents as a major part of a child’s success in school; however, I must take a stand against the outrageous actions of our current government and the negative impact Bill 22 will have on our public education system by no longer doing these things.

I hope you can understand my position and I urge you to become more informed about the negative impact that Bill 22 will have on your child’s education.

Thank you for your understanding.

J. Robinson

Leave a Reply

