Les mots-clés

I knew immediately last year when my daughter’s Kindergarten teacher sent home a “Sight Word Wallet” with her home reading envelope that it was something I wanted to incorporate into my own teaching practice.  Every year I’ve done a Home Reading program and this year I am excited to be adding a sight word component to the program.  I am convinced that learning sight words are an important part of learning how to read.

I am linking closely our new Sight Word Wallets with our weekly phonics program based on the very popular Jolly Phonics program (the French version though).  So far we have worked on the sounds ‘s’, ‘a’, ‘t’ and this week is ‘m’.  I have included these sounds as well as the small words ‘sa’, ‘ma’, and ‘ta’ along with some key sight words (voici and c’est).

My hope is that parents will not only read nightly in French with their child, but also review nightly these Sight Word wallet words and letter sounds.  I will not label each side but words/sounds that the student can confidently read can be kept on the left side of the envelope and words/sounds that the student is still learning can be kept on the right side of the envelope.

I will add words every few weeks to the students’ wallets.

img_20161002_085819img_20161002_085754

Leave a Reply

