Daily Archives: January 30, 2012

Movie Stars in the Making

As a school, we are kicking off some new social responsibility goals (respect and responsibility) this week.  There will be an assembly this Friday to get things going.  Each class is supposed to present in some way what these goals look like and sound like and I thought it’d be fun to produce a short video to present at the assembly.  Today I started taking footage with my camera when I saw students showing green behaviour (doing what they are supposed to be doing).  In the afternoon we came up with a few more examples which I filmed until I ran out of memory on my camera.

This morning we began our day talking about the letter ‘j’.  This letter can cause some confusion.  The English pronunciation is similar to the letter ‘g’ in French.    I told the students a trick I like to use.  I remember how to say ‘j’ in French because it rhymes with ‘i’ and they both have a dot on top.

We coloured the ‘j’ page and then students played while I did everyone’s home reading.  After recess the students had gym.  We started lunch a bit early because it was the first day of the Twoonie Talent Show.  A few students went to watch while everyone else went outside to play.  After lunch, we did some partner reading, followed by some cloud time.

Today I didn’t give out any blue tickets.  I’ve decided to stop this because as part of these new social responsibility goals the entire staff is going to start giving out Dragon Paws (a green cutout of a paw) whenever we see green or blue behaviour. Students who get paws will write their name and division and then get to take them to the office to be put in a big draw bin.  I believe every Friday some names will be drawn for prizes.

Tomorrow is library day because of our field trip on Wednesday.  Please bring back all library books!

Mme Tardif’s class went to the Delta Gymnastics facility today and had a great time!  I’m really looking forward to our trip Wednesday morning.  If you want to send a small snack packed in a separate bag to be eaten before we start our gymnastics rotations feel free to do so.

See you tomorrow!

Mme Robinson

Protected: January 30, 2012 – Pictures

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below: